History of the department

      On January 15, 1938 at the Kazakh State University named after S.M.Kirov the “Department of Plant Physiology and Microbiology" was organized. From 1947 until 1999 it was called “Department of Plant Physiology and Biochemistry”. In 1972, “Department of Microbiology” was separated from the main department and since 1999 the “Department of Plant Physiology and Biochemistry” became known as the “Department of Biotechnology, Biochemistry, Plant Physiology”. In 2011 as a result of the association of “Department of Biotechnology, Biochemistry, Plant Physiology” and “Microbiology” the “Department of Biotechnology” was established

      The Department was headed by PhD, Assoc.Prof. P.I.Gromakovsky (1938-1939); PhD, Assoc. Prof. S.A.Grebinsky (1940-1945); Prof., academician T.B.Darkanbaev (1946-1972); PhD, Assoc. Prof. D.K.Kalekenov (1972-1981); Prof. I.A.Bulanov (1971-1972); Prof., Academician of NAS Republic of Kazakhstan, M.H.Shigaeva, Prof., Academician of NAS Republic of Kazakhstan, Doctor of biological sciences, professor, of NAS Republic of Kazakhstan, Prof., academician I.R .Rahimbaev (1981-1989); PhD, Prof. G.Zh.Valihanova (1989-1990); Prof. A.T.Ivashchenko (1990 -2009); Prof., A.T. Kanaev (2000 -2001), Prof., Academician A.A. Zhubanova (2001 -2009); Prof. T.A. Karpenyuk (2009-2011); Prof. T.D. Mukasheva (2009-2011); Prof. B.K.Zayadan (2011-2015); PhD, Assistant Professor A.S. Kistaubaeva (from 2015).

      During S.A.Grebinsky’s period the research works on environmental physiology, the effect of the natural conditions of Kazakhstan on physiological and biochemical indicators of plant growth were conducted.

 

 

      From 1946 to 1972 the Department was headed by Doctor of biological sciences, Professor, academician Temirbai Baybusynovich Darkanbaev, a known scientist-biochemist, talented pedagogue, who prepared highly qualified biochemists, plant physiologists, microbiologists. He is the author of over 230 scientific papers, including 2 monographs, 2 textbooks and 2 certificates of authorship, devoted to the study of biochemistry of cereals, the study of proteins, carbohydrates, enzymes, vitamins, mineral composition of wheat. T.B. Darkanbaev was the rector of Kazakh State University named after Kirov from 1955 to 1961, deputy of the Supreme Soviet of the Kazakh SSR of 4th and 5th convocations. He was awarded the Order of Lenin, the Red Banner of Labor, two Orders of the Badge of Honor and medals.

      The first scientific research in the field of microbiology was carried out at the department under the direction of Prof. David Lazarevich Shamis with the active participation of Assoc. Prof. Anastasia Mikhailovna Babusenko. A group of microbiologists studied biogenic processes occurring during the formation of therapeutic mud lake Teresken, phytoncide activity of cultivated and wild onions of Kazakhstan and possibility of their use for the control of certain plant diseases, antimicrobial properties of essential oils extracted from various plants and conducted research in the field of algology.

      In 1965, the graduates of the Department of Biophysics of Moscow State University, PhD, Assist. Prof. Eltai Merhaydarovich Karabayev and candidate of biological sciences, associate professor of the department Victoria Lvovna Tszyu came to the Department of Plant Physiology and Biochemistry.

      On October 8, 1971, according to the order No.980 of the Minister of Higher and Specialized Secondary Education of the Kazakh SSR, the leadership of the University issued the Order №650 "On the division of the Department of Physiology and Biochemistry into two separate departments: Physiology and Biochemistry of Plant and Microbiology."

      The duties of the head of the department of microbiology were assigned to the corresponding member of NAS of RK, professor Peter Aleksandrovich Bulanov - a scientist, whose name is associated with a new direction in the Republic - search and study of producers of antibiotics, the author of one of the first domestic textbooks on microbiology.

 

      In 1972, the head of the department of microbiology on a competitive basis, was elected corresponding member of the National Academy of Sciences of Kazakhstan, Ph.D., Prof. Maya Hazhetdinovna Shigaeva and from that time the faculty involved in the implementation of state budget theme "Selection of microorganisms, producers of biologically active substances for the food industry and agriculture of Kazakhstan", which was part of the research plan of the Institute of Microbiology and Virology, Academy of Sciences of the Kazakh SSR. Studies conducted on the subject, were aimed at obtaining highly Streptomyces strains, producers of new antibiotics, propionic acid bacteria, feed and wine yeast.

     At the same time, the department began research in the field of chemical mutagenesis, studying the effects of physical and chemical factors on the accumulation of biomass, the formation of production-valuable metabolites by cells of eukaryotic and prokaryotic microorganisms. The results of the conducted studies in 1980 were summarized in the "Chemical mutagenesis: Problems and prospects" monograph of Corresponding Members of Academy of Science I.A. Rappoport, M. Kh. Shigaeva, N.B. Akhmatulina.

История кафедры

15 января 1938 года в КазГУ им. С.М.Кирова была организована кафедра под названием "Физиология растений и микробиология". С 1947 до 1999 года она называлась кафедрой физиологии и биохимии растений. В 1972 году от нее отделилась кафедра микробиологии и с 1999 года кафедра физиологии и биохимии растений стала именоваться кафедрой биотехнологии, биохимии, физиологии растений. В 2011 году объединением кафедр биотехнологии, биохимии, физиологии растений и микробиологии была создана кафедра биотехнологии.

Кафедрами заведовали: к.б.н., доц. П.И.Громаковский (1938-1939 гг.); к.б.н., доц. С.А.Гребинский (1940-1945 гг.); д.б.н., проф., академик Т.Б.Дарканбаев (1946-1972 гг.); к.б.н., доц. Д.К.Калекенов (1972-1981 гг.); д.б.н., проф., чл. корр. АН КазССР И.А.Буланов (1971-1972 гг.) д.б.н., проф., академик НАН РК, М.Х.Шигаева д.б.н., проф., академик НАН РК, И.Р.Рахимбаев (1981-1989 гг.); к.б.н., профессор КазГУ Г.Ж.Валиханова (1989-1990 гг.); д.б.н., проф. А.Т.Иващенко (1990 -2009 гг.); д.б.н., проф., А.Т. Канаев (2000 -2001 гг.), д.б.н., проф., академик А.А. Жубанова (2001 -2009 гг.); д.б.н., проф. Т.А.Карпенюк (2009-2011 гг.); д.б.н., проф. Т.Д. Мукашева (2009-2011 гг.); д.б.н., проф. Б.К.Заядан (2011-2015 гг.); к.б.н., доцент А.С. Кистаубаева (с 2015 г.).

В период заведования кафедрой С.А.Гребинским проводились исследования по экологической физиологии – изучалось влияние природных условий Казахстана на физиолого-биохимические показатели роста растений.

С 1946 по 1972 года кафедрой заведовал д.б.н., профессора, академик Темирбай Байбусынович Дарканбаев - известный ученый-биохимик, талантливый педагог, подготовивший высококвалифицированные кадры биохимиков, физиологов растений, микробиологов. Он является автором более 230 научных трудов, в том числе, 2-х монографий, 2-х учебников и 2-х авторских свидетельств, посвященных изучению биохимии зерновых культур, исследованию белков, углеводов, ферментов, витаминов, минерального состава зерна пшеницы. Т.Б.Дарканбаев в период с 1955 по 1961 годы был ректором КазГУ им. С.М.Кирова, депутатом Верховного Совета Казахской ССР 4 и 5-го созывов. Награждён орденом "Ленина", "Трудового Красного Знамени", двумя орденами «Знак почета» и медалями.

Первые научные исследования в области микробиологии проводились на кафедре под руководством профессора Давида Лазаревича Шамиса при активном участии доцента Анастасии Михайловны Бабусенко. Группой микробиологов изучались биогенные процессы, происходящие при образовании лечебных грязей озера Терескен (курорт Яни-Курган), фитонцидная активность культурных и дикорастущих луков Казахстана и возможность их использования для борьбы с некоторыми заболеваниями растений, антимикробные свойства эфирных масел, выделенных из различных растений, проводились исследования в области альгологии.

В 1965 году на кафедру физиологии и биохимии растений пришли ее выпускники: выпускник аспирантуры кафедры биофизики МГУ им. М.В.Ломоносова, к.б.н., доцент Эльтай Мерхайдарович Карабаев и Виктория Львовна Цзю – выпускница, затем аспирантка, к.б.н., доцент кафедры.

8 октября 1971 года, согласно приказу Министра высшего и специального среднего образования Казахской ССР №980, руководством университета им. С.М.Кирова был издан Приказ №650 "О разделении кафедры физиологии и биохимии на две самостоятельные кафедры: физиологии и биохимии растений и микробиологии".

Обязанности заведующего кафедрой микробиологии были возложены на член-корр. НАН РК, профессора Петр Александрович Буланова - ученого, с именем которого связано новое направление в Республике - поиск и изучение продуцентов антибиотиков, автора одного из первых отечественных учебников по микробиологии.

В 1972 году на должность заведующего кафедрой микробиологии на конкурсной основе была избрана член-корреспондентНАН РК, д.б.н.Майя ХажетдиновнаШигаеваи с этого времени кафедра включилась в выполнение госбюджетной темы "Селекция микроорганизмов, продуцентов биологически активных веществ для пищевой промышленности и сельского хозяйства Казахстана", которая входила в план научных исследований Института микробиологии и вирусологии АН Каз.ССР. Исследования, проводимые по этой теме, были направлены на получение высокопродуктивных штаммов стрептомицетов, продуцентов новых антибиотиков, пропионовокислых бактерий, кормовых и винных дрожжей.

В этот же период на кафедре были начаты исследования в области химического мутагенеза, по изучению действия физических и химических факторов на накопление биомассы, образование производственно-ценных метаболитов клетками эукариотических и прокариотических микроорганизмов. Результаты проведенных исследований в 1980 году были обобщены в монографии член-корр. АН СССР И.А.Рапопорта, М.Х.Шигаевой, Н.Б.Ахматулиной "Химический мутагенез. Проблемы и перспективы".