International Projects and Researches



Central Asia: Data Journalism Curriculum Integration at Universities

The Faculty of Journalism, within the framework of the UNESCO International Program for the Development of Communication (IPDC), is implementing a project to integrate data journalism curricula in Central Asian universities.
The international program aims to implement UN objectives № 4 - Quality Education, № 5 - Gender Equality and № 17 - Sustainable Development through the use of resources prepared by the IPDC Global Initiative to Improve Journalism Education.
Sustainable Development Objectives support projects in the areas of Journalism and Communication, including research by Central Asian universities within the framework of UNESCO curricula that meet the requirements of gender equality.
The Department of Print and Electronic Media plans to facilitate the process of regional integration through the development of academic cooperation, the organization of seminars on big data in investigative journalism at universities in Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan and the distribution of UNESCO instruction and resource exchange. In the cities of Almaty, Dushanbe, Tashkent and Bishkek, with the participation of international and domestic specialists, trainings on data journalism will be held for the preparation of curricula at these universities.

 

 


https://en.unesco.org/programme/ipdc 

 
As a result of trainings aimed at mastering new knowledge and skills, the main task is the exchange of experience and its development between the participating countries. Improving data journalism education based on IPDC best practices in journalism education is a priority for Central Asian universities.
The project aims to introduce UNESCO curricula on journalism education in 55 universities in Central Asia. In the work of Central Asian journalists, data journalism has become an effective tool for using interactive graphics and visual content. But at this stage, the most important facts and historical data are lost. Therefore, it is necessary to train faculty / researchers in order to adapt the UNESCO data journalism curriculum based on effective application in investigative journalism.
Investigative journalism using journalism data has not yet become a separate genre in the region. This project will contribute to improving the quality of education in information journalism at 19 journalism universities in the Central Asian region, which will increase the effectiveness of investigative journalism. The proposed project will include the integration and adaptation of the UNESCO information journalism curriculum for conducting investigative journalism on education, gender, health in Central Asian countries. Scientists from universities in Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan, most of whom are members of the Association of Central Asian Universities, will contribute to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals in journalism and communication. Since 2019, KazNU named after Al-Farabi has been implementing the master's programs "Data-journalism" and "Big Data and journalism" (a double master's degree program in conjunction with the University of Istanbul).
Integration of data journalism into the educational processes of national universities of journalism and communications in Central Asia will contribute to the development of regional academic cooperation and the effective implementation of UNESCO's international communication development programs.

Международные проекты и исследования

Центральная Азия: интеграция учебных программ по журналистике данных в университетах

Факультет журналистики в рамках Международной программы ЮНЕСКО по развитию коммуникации (IPDC) реализует проект по интегрированию учебных программ по журналистике данных в университетах Центральной Азии.
Международная программа направлена на реализацию задач ООН №4 – Качественное образование, №5 – Гендерное равенство и №17 – Устойчивое развитие посредством применения ресурсов, подготовленных Глобальной инициативой IPDC по совершенствованию журналистского образования.
Задачи устойчивого развития поддерживают проекты в сферах Журналистики и коммуникаций, в том числе исследования университетов Центральной Азии в рамках учебных программ ЮНЕСКО, которые соответствуют требованиям гендерного равенства.
Кафедра печати и электронных СМИ планирует способствовать процессу региональной интеграции посредством развития академического сотрудничества, организации семинаров по большим данным в расследовательской журналистике в университетах Казахстана, Таджикистана, Узбекистана и Киргизии и раздаче инструкции ЮНЕСКО и обмена ресурсами. В городах Алматы, Душанбе, Ташкент и Бишкек при участии международных и отечественных специалистов пройдут тренинги по дата журналистике для подготовки учебных планов в данных университетах.
В результате тренингов, направленных на овладение новыми знаниями и навыками главной задачей является обмен опытом и его развитие среди стран- участниц. Приоритетной задачей университетов Центральной Азии является совершенствование образования по журналистике данных на основе передового опыта IPDC по журналистскому образованию.

 

 

https://en.unesco.org/programme/ipdc

 
Проект направлен на внедрение учебных программ ЮНЕСКО по журналистскому образованию в 55 университетах Центральной Азии. В работе журналистов Центральной Азии журналистика данных стала эффективным инструментом использования интерактивных графиков и визуального контента. Но на этом этапе утрачиваются важнейшие факты и исторические данные. Поэтому необходимо подготовить профессорско-преподавательский состав/исследователей для того, чтобы адаптировать учебную программу ЮНЕСКО по журналистике данных, основанную на эффективном применении в ходе журналистских расследований.
Журналистское расследование с использованием журналистики данных еще не стало отдельным жанром в регионе. Этот проект будет способствовать повышению качества образования в области информационной журналистики в 19 университетах Центральноазиатского региона, что повысит эффективность журналистских расследований. Предлагаемый проект будет включать в себя интеграцию и адаптацию учебной программы ЮНЕСКО по информационной журналистике для проведения журналистского расследования по вопросам образования, гендера, здравоохранения в странах Центральной Азии. Ученые из университетов Казахстана, Узбекистана, Кыргызстана и Таджикистана, большинство из которых являются членами Ассоциации университетов Центральной Азии, внесут свой вклад в достижение Целей устойчивого развития в области журналистики и коммуникации. КазНУ имени Аль-Фараби с 2019 года реализует магистерскую программы «Data-журналистика» и «Big Data и журналистика» (программа двойного магистерского диплома совместно с университетом Стамбула).
Интеграция журналистики данных в образовательные процессы национальных университетов журналистики и коммуникаций в Центральной Азии будет способствовать развитию регионального академического сотрудничества и эффективной реализации программ развития международной коммуникации ЮНЕСКО.